Monday, June 22, 2015

What's Your Day Job? - Meet Claire J!

This week I will be introducing you to another Claire, a Social Worker and Journalist from my favourite place - Sussex. Here is a little bit about Claire and her day job.

Name: Claire J

Age: 30

A few facts about you: I live on the coast in Sussex, I'm a single parent of a 3 year old boy, I'm a qualified social worker and journalist and I write two blogs in my rare spare time about things ranging from parenting, plus size fashion to toys and upcycling my own furniture! (Confessions of a Single Parent Pessimist and Tall, Curvy Mumma).

What's your job? I'm an independent social worker, meaning I am self employed and am hired by companies and local authorities to complete assessments for courts and panels. 

How long have you been doing it? I've been a social worker for nearly ten years and an independent one for nearly  a year and a half.

What do you like best about it? Being able to be very flexible with my working hours so I can still parent my son full time whilst he's not of school age. I work when he's asleep! I enjoy analysing people, their lives and situations which is perfect for the work I currently do. 

What is the worst thing about it? Not having much money due to having very limited time I can work at the moment, and having to mainly work in the evenings after looking after my son all day, so there's not much 'me time' at all!

Would you recommend it? I would recommend working for yourself if you're a single parent like myself who has had no support practically or financially from their child's other parent as you can be flexible as childcare is so expensive!

Any funny stories? I'm afraid my line of work is not really one where things going wrong can be funny! lol

What's your dream job? I always loved dancing and wanted to be a dancer but I was too shy. Now I would love to be able to write for a living, but imagine that will be saved for when I'm too old to work!

Would you carry on if you won the lottery? No, I would focus on trying to give my son experience of the world, and teaching myself other skills so that I could help more people. 

Thank you to Claire for taking the time to provide answers for this post. You can find Claire on twitter - @vampybear and on her Facebook page as well as her blogs.

If you missed my post last week where I introduced another Claire, the food blogger, you can find it here!

Thanks for reading,